It’s a SYOB Party!

Today marks the second Monday of my self-employment, and I must say that it has been a pretty great day.  I slept in an hour later than I typically do because I was up until 1 a.m. doing some design work for EnterUp, a web site that my friend’s brother is building.

I also had to finish up some last minute things for a logo I have been working on for Ironwood Advisors, LLC.  I met with the CEO of Ironwood today to go over the first round of designs. He was very pleased with what I created for him based on our meeting last Monday.  I’m pretty sure he made his decision on the direction, but he wanted to take all of them home to get an opinion from his wife.  I’ll post the final logo once I get word from him – probably later in the week.  Towards the end of the meeting, he pulled out this book:

Last week I mentioned to him that I could probably use any advice he could give me about starting your own business, since that is what his new company basically does.  So, we had originally planned to schedule extra time today to have this discussion.  He decided, however, to buy this for me instead of diving into a full-on conversation that would (no doubt) grace the top of my head as it flew by.  He told me to read through it, take notes and come up with any questions I could think of.  He even took the time to go through the table of contents and highlight the sections that are most relevant to me at this stage in the game.  It was a really great gesture, and I very much appreciated it.  So, this big ol’ book is my main focus for this week.  I was told it should always be on my desk, ready to grab.  I’ll start it tomorrow over my morning coffee.  🙂

I won’t lie.  After that meeting ended, I was on a high because he was pleased with the logo and I was excited about this book (which is kind of scary)… so I took a few hours off and just enjoyed the afternoon.  Don’t judge me.  I got back to work around 5.

The business day ended with me taking an order for eight custom bridesmaids necklaces.  I recently met this young woman who is getting married mid-November.  When she found out I made jewelry, she got real serious about wanting custom pieces for her girls to wear in the wedding.  Each piece I make will have a similar aesthetic, however, there will be a part of each piece that is specific to the personality of each girl.  I have my list of personality traits all ready to go!  This will be a fun project with a quick turn around time.  I love when couples step outside of the traditional when it comes to wedding ceremonies.  Most weddings are saturated in sameness, and while there is nothing wrong with that, I think it’s great to include the personalities of your wedding party into the mix.  I don’t know.  I think it just makes everyone more comfortable.  #whatdoiknow

Time to watch TV!  #offtheclock

 

 

 

Leave a comment